Short I

“The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved.”
 
“Sometimes I can hear my bones straining under the weight of all the lives I’m not living.”
 
“I saw my earlier selves as different people, acquaintances I had outgrown. I wondered how I could ever have been some of them.”
 
“I guess I’ll never measure up to anyone’s expectations. I surely don’t measure up to what I’d like to be.”
 
“Before I die, I want to be somebody’s favorite hiding place, the place they can put everything they know they need to survive, every secret, every solitude, every nervous prayer, and be absolutely certain I will keep it safe. I will keep it safe.”
 
“I don’t forgive people because I’m weak. I forgive them because I am strong enough to know that people make mistakes.”
 
“Parents kill more dreams than anybody. People are born with these gifts, but if they’re not nourished or encouraged by their parents, they just wither on the vine…DEAD. Then people grow up miserable, they have no purpose….Dreamkillers, and that’s horrible.”
 
“All great and precious things are lonely.”
Leave a Reply

